The great…

He had come a long way to this blue lawn, and his dream must have seemed so close that he could hardly fail to grasp it. He did not know that it was already behind him, somewhere back in that vast obscurity beyond the city, where the dark fields of the republic rolled on under the night.

Gatsby believed in the green light, the orgastic future that year by year recedes before us. It eluded us then, but that’s no matter – tomorrow we will run fast, stretch out our arms further… And one fine morning –

So we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past.

(End of The Great Gatsby, F.Scott Fiztgerald, just finished in the bath, seemed appropriate to something)

Good luck, Roy.

8 thoughts on “The great…

  1. Great book. Read it during my brief stint at A-Level English.

    After what seemed like 6 months of reading Tess of the D’Urbervilles and Hamlet this was a breath of fresh air.

  2. I wish Roy all the best. No matter what anyone says I will always consider him the best Fulham manager of all time and a top class guy.

    Things to look forward to next season? New boss and new tactics to work out. Unfortunately it is pretty hard to be inspired by that right now…

      1. There’s a lot that we don’t know about. And there are always two sides to an argument. We don’t know what went on between Fulham and Roy. All we know is how well he managed the team – for which I too am very grateful. We don’t know much about how well Fulham itself is managed, do we?

  3. Wow Rich, I think of you highly already and then you go and quote my favorite author. What is your favorite piece by him? I like Tender in the Night the most.

    Which has a line that sorts sums up me right about now:

    …I want to give a really BAD party. I mean it. I want to give a party where there’s a brawl and seductions and people going home with their feelings hurt and women passed out in the cabinet de toilette. You wait and see.

    1. Ha. I read that about 15 years ago, but not since. Read This Side of Paradise last year and re-read Gatsby just now. I’m not sure what to think of him, I think I need to read him more closely than I read anyone to really appreciate the prose. Obviously great and all, and I’ll re-re-read Gatsby soon I think.

  4. I loved Gatsby, but I think that Fitzgerald was at his best at the short story genre. There’s a single edition of two of his “jazz era” compilations that’s been out for a few years. I can’t remember the title. It has at least a half dozen drop-dead brilliant stories — the best of which is “Ice Palace.”

    This is a VERY interesting football site.

Leave a Reply

