Staying positive

I’m not really able to understand the negativity towards Roy on the message boards.  What could he (realistically) have done differently?

Anyway, let’s not dwell on that:  I got an email from someone at Liverpool the other day asking me to write something about Roy.  Clearly they didn’t want a misery-tinged forensic analysis of why watching Fulham away was not always preferable to being force-fed a Hollyoaks omnibus, so I put together a happy piece about how much we (or I at least) appreciated him.

You can read it here.

And if you can ignore the oh-so-obvious stench of self-congratulation, here is a screen-shot of the Liverpool website:

When I was a small boy in rural Bedfordshire  everyone supported Liverpool.   And while I have no interest in them now, part of me does still get excited at the idea of Liverpool FC.  Manchester United seem like nouveu riche by comparison; Chelsea – bleugh.  Liverpool, in the part of my mind that is still nine years old, are footballing royalty.