Female Singers

I personally want to thank Rich for coming up with great content these past few weeks. I really have nothing to add regarding Fulham at the moment other than a year ago to the date we beat Wolfsburg 2-1 at the Cottage.

Is it me, or does it feels like the last time we had a string of games where we could conjure up something meaningful about was around Christmas. And adding to this apathy, or mine at least, is the fact that my upcoming schedule means I’m going to miss, oh, practically every remaining game this season. Hip hop hooray.

Anywho, I went and saw Lia Ices last night in D.C. Her voice, wow. Stunning. She didn’t need a microphone. Here’s a sample of her sound:

And an actual video, with Justin Vernon from the venerable Bon Iver.

I don’t really know why this is so, but I’ve found myself drawn to female vocalists over male also as of late. There was always Jill Andrews of the Everybodyfields and Victoria Legrand of Beach House. But it’s recently blossomed to Laura Burhenn of the Mynabirds. Neko Case and her Boyfriends. Molly Shea of the Acrylics. St. Vincent. Sera Cahoone. Angel Deradoorian. Whoever is in that band PLUG.

And now, Lia. Wow.

What’s been your jam recently?

11 thoughts on “Female Singers

  1. My long time favourite of those still active and touring is Eliza Gilkyson. A wonderful singer and strong writer with, at times, a tough political edge.

    I’ve seen her many times in small theatres and clubs and she’s engaging and friendly.

    Her Dad wrote “The Bare Necessities” from Jungle Book and she always signs off with that.

    Plus Margo Timmins from Cowboy Junkies.

  2. One of my favorite ladies is Thao Nguyen. She’s got something new coming out (or maybe out already) and is touring the east coast.

    As far as other stuff, you can check out my favorite songs of every month right here: hydrantsippin.com. New post should be going up today.

    1. Good call nordy on Thao. Which album of hers do you like better? They’re both so different but so good.

      I’ll check out that site.

      1. Thanks for checking them out, rich! What can I say, I listen to a lot of rap…it’s what I grew up with.

        But I’ve set it up recently, so it’s easier to download the individual tracks. So it’s easier to skip over the rap stuff, if you prefer.

    1. Hah, I have her album on my iTunes. I’ve listened a few times but not given it the time it probably deserves. She’s playing in a few weeks and might go.

      Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

