Come dine with me

Interesting stuff in the Mail. Well not interesting in any real sense, diverting perhaps. Anyway, football managers polled as to who they’d like to have dinner with:

Harry Redknapp – Muhammad Ali, Vincent O’Brien, Bobby Moore
Paul Ince – Wife, John F Kennedy, Tiger Woods
Paul Lambert – Elvis Presley, George Bush, George Best
Roberto Di Matteo – Julius Caesar, Claudia Schiffer, Robert De Niro
Sam Allardyce – Nelson Mandela, Muhammad Ali, Sir Alex Ferguson
Sven Goran Eriksson – Nelson Mandela, Pope John Paul, Barack Obama
Chris Coleman – John F Kennedy, Elvis Presley, Jimi Hendrix
Tony Adams – Jesus, Sir Alf Ramsey, Scarlett Johansson
Simon Grayson – Geoffrey Boycott, Bono, Don Revie
Roberto Mancini – Paolo Mantovani, The Pope, Sheikh Mansour
Rafa Benitez – Julius Caesar, Al Pacino, Napoleon
David Moyes – Mother, Tommy Burns, Kylie Minogue
Gustavo Poyet – Fernando Morena, Michael Jordan, Wife
Neil Warnock – Queen, Barbara Streisand, Brian Clough
Steve McClaren – Nelson Mandela, Barack Obama, Sir Alex Ferguson
Alex McLeish –  Robert Di Niro, John Lennon, Muhammad Ali
Alan Pardew – Muhammad Ali, Barrack Obama, Spike Milligan
Peter Reid – Elvis Presley, Jesus Christ, Angelina Jolie
Chris Hughton – Martin Luther King, Muhammad Ali, Bill Shankly
Gianfranco Zola – Father, wife, Diego Maradona

Shame no Roy, Jol or SAF.

Let’s all play.

First, whose table would you sit on?

Top table: Pardew (the Ali/Milligan combo would be hilarious if you could persuade Spoke to play ball)
Nip over to say hello: Tony Adams (what a mix he has!)
Avoid at all costs: Ince I think.

My own table would have to be Hade, Stanley and one other in real life (I’m really not good with strangers) but if we’re to suspend reality for a moment I’d go for Jerry Garcia, Roberto Bolano and Dixie Dean.  I think Bolano and Garcia would get on well and Dixie Dean would be good to have around as a historical curiosity (I say this knowing little about the man).

PS I only opened this story because I thought it said Mohamed Al Fayed, not Mohammad Ali.

20 thoughts on “Come dine with me

  1. Rafa’s would be interesting, to say the least.

    Personally, I’d love to sit with Hank Williams, Ulysses S Grant, Daniel Boone, and F Scott Fitzgerald. Sure, that’s four, but you try telling one of those they can’t eat at the table…

    Just imagine all the crazy stories. And there’d be lots, and lots, of booze.

    1. I lost all respect for Napoleon after Bill and Ted.

      Always got the sense that Fitzgeralnd might be a bit of a tool but may have this wrong.

      If you’re having four then I’m inviting John Coltrane and Edward Abbey along.

        1. Au contraire. Definite +1s for Fitzgerald and Williams. I’d be happy to sit and listen to those guys.

          Grant was a civil war general? Boone a good choice too.

          Most of my options were Yanks as well!

  2. I’d have Ayrton Senna, Kurt Cobain and David Duchovny. A fine evening in store. Plus can I have American “actress” Aurora Snow to bring me a late snack in bed please?

  3. I would introduce Muhammad Ali to Brian Clough, then sit back and enjoy their banter with Christina Hendricks.

  4. After MUCH consideration I’ve settled on Jack Kerouac, George Best & Johnny Cash.

    From the list I quite fancy joing Chris Hughton’s table, some powerful personalities there. You’d have to stop at Tony Adam’s table though, I reckon Jesus would be chatting up Scarlett Johansson and Adam’s having a deep discussion about classical music with Sir Alf.

      1. Yes – Mermaid Avenue. They released two volumes in the end. Both worth a listen, first volume probably the better one.

        I prefer the Billy Bragg led songs to the Wilco ones. They fell out a bit over the production and ended up with a slightly less collaborative feel.

  5. I think I’d have Glenn Gould, Nelson Mandela and Leonard Cohen.

    To sit at one of those tables:

    Avoid like the plague:

    Paul Lambert – Elvis Presley, George Bush, George Best
    Simon Grayson – Geoffrey Boycott, Bono, Don Revie
    Neil Warnock – Queen, Barbara Streisand, Brian Clough
    Gianfranco Zola – Father, wife, Diego Maradona

    Interesting to sit in on:

    Chris Coleman – John F Kennedy, Elvis Presley, Jimi Hendrix
    Rafa Benitez – Julius Caesar, Al Pacino, Napoleon
    Alex McLeish – Robert Di Niro, John Lennon, Muhammad Ali
    Alan Pardew – Muhammad Ali, Barrack Obama, Spike Milligan

  6. Agree about Tony Adams’ table. Amazed that Elvis gets so many invites – is that just to watch him eat?
    I think I’d enjoy David Moyes’ table. Tommy Burns always seemed an interesting guy.

    My table would be Doris Day, Dolly Parton and Tommy Cooper – music & laughter.

  7. Look at Benitez’s list–what a little dictator lover!

    I’d go with George Best, John Peel, and Eric Hobsbawm.

  8. i’d be happy at a table with hunter s. thompson, pj o’rourke and keith richards.

    i suspect that the alcohol consumption would be heroic, the talk licentious and heretical and that, at some point, hunter would threaten to shoot someone. all the makings of a good evening out.

    and if there’s to be a fourth, sophia loren in about 1960. a total goddess.

    and if there had to be a sports person, then it’d be viv richards (no relation). the finest cricketer i’ve seen in my lifetime.

Leave a Reply

