Dempsey interview

Grant Wahl interviews Clint Dempsey

SI.com: The only Premier League players with more goals in all competitions than you this season are Robin van Persie, Wayne Rooney and Sergio Agüero. That’s it. Do you think there will come a point when people view you in that truly elite group?
Dempsey: It seems like you have a few more hurdles when you’re an American. I feel I have to do it consistently, even though I feel like every year I’ve bettered myself. If I continue to go the way I’m going, then maybe one day. But I still need to finish the season strong, still need to get my goal tally up. I feel like if we were higher up in the table it’s something you’d take more notice of also. Hopefully we can finish in the top half and I can continue in the years coming up playing the way I have been the last few seasons.

Some good stuff in there, though – have a read.

 

Leave a Reply

