The lights exploded (now with highlights)

Sport is in many ways a waste of time and brain space. But when it’s nice, it’s really nice.

As you’ll know if you’ve read this for any time I’m a big fan of Juliana Hatfield. In a generally brilliant but occasionally erratic musical career Hatfield is capable of moments that make me feel feint. Bring a tear to my eye.

Take this for instance. It’s an album track from the Blake Babies’ 1990 album “Sunburn” and is a relatively ordinary Boston indie pop song. But at the end John Strohm’s guitar revs up a bit and Hatfield adds some harmonies that send me to heaven.

It’s more subtly demonstrated here. This is the Lemonheads’ “Drug Buddy”, one of the great songs from a great spell for Evan Dando’s band. Hatfield offered exceptional harmonies here, too, but much deeper into the background. She pops up on 4-5 Lemonheads songs like this and adds a great deal each time despite being barely noticeable.

For the full effect see 1990’s “Only Everything” album, whose title was taken from Dinosaur Jr’s phenomenal “Raisans”* In an otherwise loud and fuzzy album, the tender “Live on Tomorrow” contains one of the best 90 seconds of music I’m aware of.

That’s what it’s all about in my world. If you have it in you to make beautiful music, to bring about a gentle feeling of ecstasy in the middle of another dull London day, if you can do that, and if you’re given the chance to do that, then the world is a much better place than it would have been had you not been given this chance.

Your best is not just better than others’ best, it is beautifully and spectacularly better. Your day-to-day performance might not always be so good. But when you’re on, by god you’re on.

I make no apologies for this post. I didn’t see last night’s game but I’m looking forward to the highlights.


*The lights exploded
She stood burning in front of me
She ripped my heart out beating
My eyes wouldn’t open, cemented to her face
Have I begun a feeble chase?

I’ll be down, I’ll be around
I’ll be hanging where eventually you’ll have to be
I’ll just stare and hope you’ll care
It’s only everything standing in front of me

I know what you did to me
I know what you did was wrong
You’re allowed to torture me
Wait a moment until I’m gone
I know you’re the ticket, you gotta be
‘Cause I let you alone for long
Got to be so completely
Got to be so I can’t hang on

(you’re killing me)

I’ll be down, I’ll be around
I’ll be hanging where eventually you’ll have to be
I’ll just stare and hope you’ll care
It’s only everything standing in front of me

I’ll be down, I’ll be around
I’ll be hanging where eventually you’ll have to be
Then that man is standing there
Now you’ll have to decide the fate of my sanity

One thought on “The lights exploded (now with highlights)

  1. nice post Rich….always liked that song Drug Buddy…..I’ve got all 3 of these albums you reference. hey, might well be in England next summer…..a colleague is getting married out in the Costwolds or someplace like that. For sure we’ll spend a couple nights in London. Will let you know…..

Leave a Reply

