Ross McCormack scoring goals

One for the “no sht, Sherlock” file.

“It’s similar to last year in that it took a little while to get going, but I had a good chat with the Manager on Sunday and just said that when I came to the Club I was a striker and I think it’s best if I can get back to that, being in and around the box.

“So I’m pleased that I was up front in the cup and I got two goals to repay that faith. When I’ve been playing in the hole in behind strikers then it’s my job to come deep and link the play, but I feel a lot better when I’m further up the pitch and I’m around the box, as the second goal showed. When you’ve got the chance to come inside and get shots away and stuff, I feel a lot more comfortable.”

As a reminder, in the past McCormack has had seasons where he’s scored 21, 18, 28 and 17 goals in the league.

Think about it this way: by taking him out of the position where he’s doing this, are you confident that his “link up play” will be sufficiently productive cover this goals shortfall? If your option is McCormack behind Smith or someone else behind McCormack, you don’t just go with the former to fit Smith into the side.  You put your star player where he’ll do most good for the team. The game is about scoring goals and not conceding goals. Everything stems from these two things. You don’t deliberately inhibit your options for doing this without good reason.

4 thoughts on “Ross McCormack scoring goals

    1. If you believe the info at football-lineups.com, Leeds almost always played two up top that season, although it was a mix of 4-4-2, 3-5-2 and 4-3-1-2. (And McCormack was always, save for one match, one of the two forwards.)

  1. It’s interesting and heartening to hear Ross say this, since it had often seemed that he was sitting deep out of preference. In the light of this quote, he’d have been dropping back to search for it in midfield through a perceived lack of service. This year, service there ought to be.

Leave a Reply

